TREASURES AND THE HEART….


Matthew 6:19-21 – “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal;  20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.  21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  NKJV

 Treasures

 

People have frequently told me, “it’s not about the money” and each time I remember the quote of H.L. Mencken – “Whey somebody says it’s not about the money, it’s about the money.”  Through the years many people have declared that the reason they made no preparation for retirement was this passage but while it could be stretched to mean make no preparation for later years it is more specifically speaking of WHAT HOLDS YOUR HEART.  There is a significant difference.

If in your preparation for your Golden Years you become obsessed with money, investments, etc. to the point that that is your focus rather than God then you most assuredly have gone beyond the bounds and limits of scripture.  On the other hand making preparation for the latter years is not only acceptable but prudent and helps to insure that you will not become a burden to family, the community, the church, or the nation.  That is part of being wise as serpents and harmless as doves and is not a negative in the realm of faith.  But that is not what this devotional is about.

Spiritual Blog Post - Heart

Jesus is addressing that which HOLDS THE HEART and He calls that a treasure.  He is clearly talking about earthly possessions and the fallacy of placing your entire dependence on the arm of flesh and mammon.  He is equally clear in His address of turning the heart toward God and eternal things and that is the focus.  If earthly things hold your heart they have replaced God as the center of your universe and that is a dangerous place to reside.  Things, money, possessions can be lost, stolen, destroyed or eroded but treasures in heaven cannot be touched by mortal conditions.  No wonder Jesus says in the latter portion of this chapter that we are to SEEK FIRST the Kingdom of God and His Righteousness.  Side-note who or what is the Kingdom?  Read the passage and answer that to yourself.

I have lived in conditions when I did not know where the next meal was coming from and had to trust God.  I have lived in conditions where I had plenty of money to provide for what I needed and still felt I needed to and could trust God.  Man has never been and will never be my source that position belongs to God.  I know that whatever talent or ability I have is a result of God’s work in my life and any open doors are ones that He opened.  If I have to choose between earthly preparation and spiritual preparation I will opt for the spiritual believing that God will honor my choice and provide.  I am not earning His favor or purchasing it I am just enjoying it.

Things, earthly things are temporary.  Spiritual things are eternal.  Which is more worthy of your attention?  If I leave anything for those following me most of all I want it to be a legacy of trusting God and demonstrating to all who will observe God’s faithfulness.  I want my heart to be held by the LORD not earth.

            As you go through your day go in the grace and peace of God!

Leave a Reply

