THE HEART OF MAN….


Spiritual Blog - The Heart

Jeremiah 17:9-10 – “The heart is deceitful above all things, And desperately wicked; who can know it? 10 I, the LORD, search the heart, I test the mind, Even to give every man according to his ways, According to the fruit of his doings.”  NKJV

 

Jeremiah known as the weeping prophet and with words like this from the LORD no wonder because this kind of prophetic word will get you blasted every time and brings much suffering and resentment.  People do not want to hear their real condition or face the truth about flaws in their armor.  Let me rephrase that and say that I do not mean it as a blanket statement and an indictment on all people but it is often true even in the church among those who profess Christ as their Savior.

SELF-DECEPTION is a tactic the devil has used from the beginning of his declension into evil.  He deceived one-third of the angelic hosts, he deceived Adam & Eve, and he has been deceiving people ever since.  He conditioned Adam & Eve to believe that they were deserving of something God was keeping from them and spurred them into making the decision to vote SELF as the center of their universe and fire God.  The apostle Paul told us in 2 Corinthians 11 that the devil disguised himself as an angel of light.  He also instructed us in Ephesians 6 to put on the full armor of God so that we could stand against the schemes of the devil.

It is when we begin to do ‘comparisons’ we easily fall into the trap of ‘self-deception’ and wrongly evaluate our condition and position and follow a deceptive heart.  Self-deception indicates that we do not even realize that we are deceived and therefore cannot know our own hearts.  However, God does!  He searches our hearts, minds, and evaluates our lives and truly there will be an accounting one day.

We should all pray with David in Psalm 139:23-24 – “Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me and know my anxious thoughts; 24 and see if there be any hurtful way in me, and lead me in the everlasting way.” NASU   David knew that he could not escape the presence of God and even if he made his bed in hell God was there or if he ascended to heaven God was there.  God knows when we get up, when we lay down and everything between. HE KNOWS!  HE SEES!

So acknowledging that I am a flawed vessel I cry out to the Lord for Him to ‘search me’ and ‘know me’ and if there is anything wicked or hurtful in me PURGE IT PLEASE and lead me in the way everlasting.  I want to be a vessel for honor not dishonor.  I want to be pleasing in His sight and when I reach the end of the journey to hear, “Well done, good and faithful servant, enter into the joys of your Lord.”  It will not be because of what I have done but what He has done and I ask Him to guard my heart at all times.

            May the Lord be with you as you go through your day!

Leave a Reply

