THIS CANNOT HAPPEN WITH AN UNREAD BIBLE…..


Spiritual Blog - Unread Bible

Colossians 3:16-17 – “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. 17 And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.”  NKJV

 

I had a person tell me a few years ago that they did not read the Bible anymore because they had read it and knew what it said.  I find that incredibly foolish and dangerous.  In Bible College there was an individual after one semester declared that he was changing his major from Theology to Music because he had learned all about Theology.  I thought, “I fear for any people that you may one day pastor.”  I have been studying the Word of God for over 40 years and still feel that I know almost nothing.  I NEVER read the Bible that I do not find something new and enlightening that I had never understood before.  It is like the song concerning God’s grace, mercy, and love – “NEW EVERY MORNING.”

How can you LET the Word of Christ dwell in you RICHLY if you do not read it?  You may have read it years before but would you refuse natural food because you ate last week or even yesterday?  As we mediate upon the Word of God allowing it to become part of our thinking and being we are able to have it DWELL in us and for it to do so RICHLY would demand regular and consistent immersion into its depths.

How can we teach and admonish each other in psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs if we do not have the Word IN us?  I would never want to be legalistic and say you have to read so much and so often to qualify but I will suggest that in the natural you do not go on long periods without food so why should our spirits be less important than our physical bodies?

Personally I find that God’s Word provides comfort, encouragement, direction, assurance, and gives me weapons with which to combat the forces of hell that challenge my life daily.  I love to sing the Psalms and take a passage of scripture and mediate upon it until it completely opens before my mind and my spirit.  The Holy Spirit takes me down path after path in my thinking and examining that passage and as my teacher opens up truths that I have not before seen I am empowered to walk out those truths and attain those promises.

I would encourage you to make the Word of God a regular part of your life and in so doing I believe you will find that your life is enriched and you are better able to deal with many situations in life.

            May God be with you as you go through your day and bless you richly!

 

Leave a Reply

