WHAT AM I TO DO IN TODAY’S WORLD?


Micah 6:8 – “He has told you, O man, what is good; And what does the LORD require of you But to do justice, to love kindness, And to walk humbly with your God?” NASU

 Spiritual Blog - Micah

 

I am mixing religious and political or social thoughts in this devotional in response to some questions, criticisms, and encouragements I have received over the past few months.  Some tell me that as a Christian we are to totally ignore the political.  Some tell me that as a Christian I am to be involved in the political.  Some tell me that as a Christian I am to become an activist on social issues and others say no we are to just pray.  There is no consensus among those who profess the Christian faith or among those who profess no faith.

I wish I could say that it is just a personal decision and leave it at that and while I agree with that premise on some level I also disagree.  That being said, each person will have to determine in their hearts what they believe God would have them do and follow that urging in the best way they can.  I cannot and will not fault that.

SEPARATION OF CHURCH AND STATE is a very misunderstood argument and while I totally agree that it is not the duty of the church to control the state nor the state to control the church but with the adoption of biblical principles, expressions of support for those principles, and the use of the Bible as a teaching tool in public education by our founders it would be difficult to argue that they wanted the church totally eliminated from the affairs of state.  What they wanted was to prevent the federal government from appointing clerics or ministers or forming a national religion while suppressing others.  They wanted to preserve religious freedom in America not prevent godly principles from influencing legislation and the course of the nation.  George Washington spoke of the smiles of heaven on our nation so long as we followed His precepts so I suggest that God wants us to be aware, prayerful and even involved in the legislative process of our land.

CHRISTIAN POLITICIAN is almost an oxymoron but it is not for I know some politicians at various levels who are godly people and truly want to obey the Word of God and the directive of the Holy Spirit in their lives.  Some find it a difficult walk with the continual push from many in politics and activist groups seeking to banish God and the Bible from all things public.  Remember Psalm 33:12 tells us “Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord…” So having someone in politics who espouses Christian, godly, and moral values is not a detriment but a blessing to our nation.

NATIONAL AND SOCIAL ISSUES are never far from each of us and the Bible is filled with directives as to our obligation to pray for those in leadership and to remember the poor, needy, widows, and orphans.  It however negates the idea of entitlement welfare while advancing the principles of Christian charity, godliness, and the requirement that, men/women be willing to work for their livelihood.  Paul even declared that anyone who ‘would not work’ should not eat.

As a believer I can more effectively pray if I know what is happening and I personally cannot square the ‘ostrich mentality’ of burying my head in the sand with the requirement advanced by Micah to do justice, love kindness and walk humbly before God.  I cannot square it with ‘knowing to do good and doing it not’.  I cannot square it with seeing evil or danger advancing and remaining silent.  No as a believer I sense a need to be observant, prayerful, and work while it is yet day both in advancing the message of the gospel and defending freedom.  You can disagree but that is the conviction of my heart and hopefully it not only helps you understand me but encourages you in your Christian walk and your natural life on planet earth.

            Blessings as you go through this day!

Leave a Reply

