BEGIN AT THE BEGINNING….


Genesis 1:1-2 – “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2 The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.”  NKJV

 Spiritual Blog - Beginnig

The first sentence of Genesis 1 must become a settled issue in our hearts if we are to grasp, understand and accept the remaining sentences in the entire Bible.  I was sharing with some evolutionist once and told them that in the beginning God created or made everything out of nothing.  I knew that would be challenged and one of the most vocal said, “That’s ludicrous, YOU cannot create something out of nothing!”  I calmly responded, “You are sure right, I (ROY) cannot but then I am not God.”  We went into some lengthy discussions of the intricacies of our universe, planetoid relationships, species of the animal kingdom and the human body and after pointing out numerous ‘stop gaps’ that God had put in place and the astounding nature of the human body with the nerves, veins, vessels, heart, lungs, and other organs all connected through a central nervous center that is beyond any computer ever built.  In the end I asked them what the statistical probabilities would be for ALL THIS just happened.

The distinguished British astronomer, Sir Fred Hoyle once said regarding evolution, “the chance that higher forms have emerged in this way is comparable with the chance of a tornado sweeping through a junk-yard and assembling a Boeing 747 from the materials therein.”  He went further and said, At all events, anyone with even a nodding acquaintance with the Rubik cube will concede the near-impossibility of a solution being obtained by a blind person moving the cubic faces at random. Now imagine 1050 blind persons each with a scrambled Rubik cube, and try to conceive of the chance of them all simultaneously arriving at the solved form. You then have the chance of arriving by random shuffling at just one of the many biopolymers on which life depends. The notion that not only biopolymers but the operating programme of a living cell could be arrived at by chance in a primordial organic soup here on the Earth is evidently nonsense of a high order.”

             I could never in a trillion years explain God but I believe HE IS and when I consider the probabilities, the problems, and potential of creation I cannot comprehend any other conclusion that IN THE BEGINNNING GOD CREATED.  For me, it actually would take a much greater measure of what the evolutionist call ‘blind faith’ to accept their postulation than to believe in creation.  One of the reasons I believe so deeply and emphatically is because I have ‘experienced’ God personally.  That would be enough for me and I know that some who are atheist or agnostic tell me that religion is simply the ‘opiate of a weak mind.’  They ask me where God came from and conclude that since I cannot answer that the possibility of creation is unacceptable.  I ask them to prove He does not exist and they cannot thus bringing, us to the heart of the matter – FAITH.

I grew up in a home and community that believed in the existence of God although all did not profess to serve or know Him.  After returning from Vietnam I was introduced to Jesus in a very real personal way and will never forget the ‘transformation’ of the night I opened the door upon which He had been knocking and received His pardon and grace.  I did not have to tell others there was something different they told me.  Oh, I told them what had happened in the best way I could but they saw it before I said it.  My countenance, attitude, and actions were different.  I began at the beginning and settled the question GOD IS and since then I have learned that HE IS A REWARDER of those who diligently seek Him.  I have learned that He is longsuffering to us and fulfills His promise to never leave us or forsake us.  Therefore, I believe and stand in confidence that the heavens and earth were created by God.

May God be with you as you go through your day!

Leave a Reply

