WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU SPEAK?


Spiritual Blog - Word

Isaiah 55:8-11 – “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.  9 “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts. 10 “For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return there without watering the earth and making it bear and sprout, and furnishing seed to the sower and bread to the eater; 11 So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth; it will not return to Me empty, without accomplishing what I desire, and without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it.” NASU

When Jesus spoke, things happened.  When the apostles spoke, things happened.  When we speak, what happens?  Remember the account where the storms were crashing in and the disciples feared for their lives?  Jesus arose and spoke to the winds and everything calmed down.  When the disciples spoke lives were transformed.  Shall we forget creation?  Remember in Genesis the Bibles says; “And God said…”  John even tells us in John 1 that “In the beginning was the word and the word was God…” 

When we speak do people just go back to sleep, out to eat and continue business as usual?  I would venture to say that much of the time that is exactly what happens but why?  Why did His words and the words spoken by the early church followers have so much impact and ours often so little?  After all Jesus said in John 12:32 – “If I be lifted up from the earth I will draw all men unto me.”  Yes He was speaking specifically about His crucifixion but remember also that Paul said in Romans 1:16 – “For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also the Greek.”  So how is the gospel presented?  Although not exclusively it is frequently if not largely presented by WORDS!  What did Paul declare in Romans 10:14-15?  He said, “How then will they call on Him in whom they have not believed?  How will they believe in Him whom they have not heard?  And how will they hear without a preacher?  How will they preach unless they are sent?  Just as it is written, ‘how beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news of good things!’”

Remember the sons of Sceva after watching and listening to Paul preach and observed the miracles that resulted decided they would do the same thing so they went to a demoniac and said, “I adjure you by Jesus whom Paul preaches.”  The demon responded, “Jesus I know and Paul I know but who are you?”  It is not just WORDS but God’s word believed and backed by the anointing of the Holy Spirit that transforms or brings transformation.  The Word of God is ‘inspired’.  It is ‘truth’ that makes free.  It produces faith for Romans 10:17 tells us, ‘So faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of Christ.”

It is my sincere desire to speak only that which God desires at the moment He desires it said and if I do that I expect God to perform His word for His purposes and it will not return void but will accomplish that which He purposed.  I do not want to be an ‘echo’ but avoice’.  I do not want to ‘talk about’ God I want to be a ‘voice for’ God.  We face a world that is still filled with demonic activity and the evidence of the destruction of the devil is visible all around us.  We have been entrusted with the Word of God and through His word we have weapons that are mighty through God to the pulling down of strongholds.  We need to take to heart the commission of our Lord and “Go therefore…”  Knowing that He is with us and He is diligently watching over His word at all times!

            May God bless you and be with you as you go experience this new day!

Leave a Reply

