OMISSION and COMMISSION…


Spiritual Blog - Cistern

Jeremiah 2:13 – “For My people have committed two evils: They have forsaken Me, The fountain of living waters, to hew for themselves cisterns, broken cisterns That can hold no water.”  NASU

I had a person justify their failure to do something by declaring that he did nothing.  I know that sounds nonsensical but he argued that his omission was okay because he was not guilty of committing a overtly wrongful act.  He failed to remember the words of scripture in James 4:17 that knowing to do good and not doing it (omission) is sin.  Just because you do not commit one of the classically identified actions we have deemed sin does not mean that we have not failed via our omission. The one does not justify the other.

Jeremiah declares that the people had committed two evils.  They had forsaken God’s fountain of living water and hewn for themselves cisterns.  He identified the problem that flesh cannot provide the spiritual nourishment for it is a broken cistern.  I am reminded of the words of our Lord when He stood and declared in John 7 that if we believe on Him there would be an artesian well springing up from within us that would become a river flowing out from us.

There is a significant difference between a ‘free flowing well’ and a ‘cistern’.  A cistern was hewn out of solid stone.  Its purpose was to hold water that had been poured into it.  That water would become warm and stale because it had no flow; whereas a well was dug and lined with rocks and the water flowed into it.  Initially the well gives off little water and thus the reason to pump water out for as the water is pumped out the veins through which the stream flows is cleared and more water flows in.  In our lives we find that as we come to Christ we have tapped into the ever flowing stream that fills our wells and never runs dry.

If we want God to guide us we have to ask for, embrace and desire it.  I have encountered people who appear genuinely fearful of submitting to God’s guidance.  The main reason is their want to maintain control.  Imagine, if you will, having a wild child teenage son who had been getting into trouble frequently, demanding a car, more money and freedom.  Then suddenly one day he comes to you and says, “Dad/Mom, I’ve been thinking a lot lately.  You know I used to think I knew everything about life and what I was going to do, but I am beginning to realize that I am still just a kid.  You’ve been around a lot longer than me and I’ve begun to realize that what you want for me is best. Therefore, from now on I want you to guide, direct and show me the right way and I’ll do my best to obey.”   You would not send him to his room saying, “You’re grounded for six months.”  You’d be in shock and deliriously happy.  Many seem to think that is exactly what God is going to do if we submit to Him totally.

Philippians 2:13 – “For it is God who works in you both to will and to do His good pleasure.”

Philippians 4:13 – “I am ready for anything through the strength of the one who lives in me.”  (Phillips).

God will guide all who will submit to His guidance.  It is our Father’s good pleasure to give us the kingdom.   God bless you as you go through this day!

Leave a Reply

