SO YOU THINK YOU ARE SMART DO YOU???


Spiritual Blog - Wisdom

1 Corinthians 3:18-23 – “Let no one deceive himself. If anyone among you seems to be wise in this age, let him become a fool that he may become wise. 19 For the wisdom of this world is foolishness with God. For it is written, “He catches the wise in their own craftiness”;   20 and again, “The LORD knows the thoughts of the wise, that they are futile.”   21 Therefore let no one boast in men. For all things are yours: 22 whether Paul or Apollos or Cephas, or the world or life or death, or things present or things to come — all are yours. 23 And you are Christ’s, and Christ is God’s.”  NKJV

I never cease to be amused when I hear comments about someone’s intelligence and that person, leader, politician or preacher is elevated to SUPER INTELLIGENT status.  When I do I am immediately drawn to this passage and chuckle inside and can only imagine what God does when he hears our comments regarding man’s intelligence.

I have become convinced that God delights in exposing the ‘craftiness’ of man in his self-elevation to greatness and wisdom.  I have sat in brainstorming sessions and been involved in gatherings described as ‘think tanks’ and virtually always came away with a sense of our inadequacy.  I’ve been around some of the brightest minds on earth today and listened to them rationalize and evaluate certain situations or conditions and after a time realized that, at best, we were only scratching the surface of the issue.  We are FINITE beings and see IN PART and sometimes that part is incredibly limited no matter how many letters we have after our names.

Placing confidence in man or man’s ability to solve the world’s problems is not just ridiculous it is dangerous.  God knows the thoughts of our hearts BEFORE we think them.  We view the beginning from the end but God views the end from the beginning.  We grasp realities as we experience them but God is reality.  We try to use the finiteness of the human mind to comprehend the infiniteness of God and that is IMPOSSIBLE.  We tend to trust the ‘Arm of Flesh’ rather than fully and completely turn to the Omnipotent, Omniscient, Omnipresent creator of everything.  Wise?  No we demonstrate time and again just how foolish we are as human beings.  Our foolishness includes our attempts to think it through in our own understanding and we fail repeatedly.  He has offered to GUIDE us into all truth and too often we resist.

We belong to God through Christ and in that relationship we have access to the Wisdom and Knowledge of God which is INFINITE.  We have access to the Power needed to overcome all obstacles. We have the promise of the Holy Spirit who will TEACH us, GUIDE us and GUARD us in all things and at all times.  So, if you have been guilty of depending on your own understanding STOP IT! 

The more I know the more I realize how little I actually know but the more I know Him the more confident I become that I have tapped into the source and solution to whatever I face.  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!  I am more than a conqueror through Him who loves me.  I will never be orphaned or left without comfort.  I reside under the shelter of His protection covering and rejoice in that.  Going outside that covering would be anything but smart and if there is a time when I begin to feel important or even intelligent I find the Spirit of God tapping my shoulder and reminding me of this passage.  My confidence is in God and God alone!

            God bless you as you go through this day!

Leave a Reply

