HAVE YOU EVER WONDERED WHY???


Spiritual Blog - Wondered

Genesis – 5:3 – “And Adam lived one hundred and thirty years, and begot a son in his own likeness, after his image, and named him Seth.”  NKJV

 

Have you ever wondered why some things are listed in scripture?  If all scripture is given by inspiration of God and is profitable then everything listed must have some significance.  Some things seem to slip by completely unnoticed and as I encounter them I am immediately arrested and begin to wonder why it was listed or listed that way.

Take this passage for example.  I do not wonder why the listing of Adam’s son Seth being born is recorded for it has enormous spiritual implication and is beneficial in tracing lines of genealogy.  The reminder that Seth was after Adam’s image and likeness is an important reminder that Adam was created in the image and likeness of God and his offspring were continuations of that lineage.  But why mention that Adam lived 130 years and had a son?  It does not tell me how old Adam was when Able was murdered but it does tell me how old Adam was when Seth was born so my mind cries out that it has some significance.

Later in Genesis I find an interesting statement from Jacob when Joseph brings his father and family to Egypt during a time of incredible famine to preserve them.  In Genesis 47:9 as Jacob is brought before Pharaoh he says, “The days of the years of my pilgrimage are 130 years.”  In a very real sense this was the marking of a SECOND CHANCE for Israel and in a very real sense the birth of Seth marks a SECOND CHANCE for mankind.  I do not mean to imply that Seth bypassed the need for the Messiah to come but that it identified God’s incredible love in giving Adam and Eve and mankind another opportunity to pursue Him and His purposes.  The line of Seth is identified in the Bible as a godly line for it was after the birth of Seth’s son Enosh that we are told that men began to call on the name of the LORD.

Psalm 130 is identified by biblical scholars as a Song of Ascents and is a cry of the heart to God’s redemption.  Psalm 119:130 tells us, “The entrance of Your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple.”  I do not mean to strain at gnats and swallow camels and try to make something out of nothing but sometimes little nuggets that bring comfort to my heart are uncovered as I read scripture.

I will not endeavor to build a doctrine on the number 130 or even make it a significant part of my Bible study it simply pointed me to those things listed above as I read the age listed of Adam when Seth was born.  It spoke to me something needed at the moment it caught my attention and for that reason I share it with you.

Spiritual Blog - Second Chances

God is truly a God of SECOND CHANCES and His long-suffering and patience with us, even when we miserably fail is so powerful it must be noticed, acknowledged and received.  So, if you have been struggling with a perceived failure in your life realize that God is not finished with you yet and a SECOND CHANCE just may be in the offing for you.

            May God be with you as you go through this day!

Leave a Reply

