WHO AM I MEETS I AM…


Spiritual Blog - Who Am I

Exodus 3:11-14 – “But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the children of Israel out of Egypt?”  12 So He said, “I will certainly be with you. And this shall be a sign to you that I have sent you: When you have brought the people out of Egypt, you shall serve God on this mountain.” 13 Then Moses said to God, “Indeed, when I come to the children of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they say to me, ‘What is His name?’ what shall I say to them?”

14 And God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.”  NKJV

“Who Am I?” was the question Moses asked at the burning bush when God instructed him to deliver the people of Israel from Egyptian bondage.  One the one hand it is a valid and good question borne out of a sense of inadequacy and humility.  One the other it is inappropriate and smacks of being nothing more than an excuse to justify a lack of desire to obey.  Moses had been groomed for high ranking purposes in Pharaoh’s house but the pull of His heart and the plan of God caused him to become an outcast and outlaw in Egypt.  His self-esteem had been brought down a few pegs on the board of human ego and in many ways it appears he saw himself a failure not a future or potential leader of a nation of a few million people.

I have asked that question before and found the Lord to be faithful in His call and provision.  I have encountered people who should have asked the question out of humility but engaged in self-promotion to the point of becoming odorous.  When God opens a new chapter in my life laying revealing a purpose and call my heart tends to ask, “Who Am I?” that you would want me to do this.  I am not trying to be falsely humble or self-effacing for I have always battled a certain amount of pride and ego and self-confidence but when encountering the Lord my natural tendency is to fall on my face and ask, “Who Am I?”

The response of the Lord to Moses is incredibly encouraging or should be.  God said, “I will be with you.”  That should have been enough but it wasn’t.  Moses pressed further offering another objection saying, in effect, “Well God when I get to Egypt and tell them the God of your fathers sent me they are going to want further confirmation and ask, ‘Okay, what is His name?'”  God said, “Tell them I AM WHO I AM.” 

The Who Am I just came face to face with the I AM and in the years to follow the revelation of God’s person, presence and character would become so ingrained in the heart of Moses that He lived and breathed I AM.  His Who Am I became I Can because of Whose I Am and that should be our view of the objective as well as the obstacle before us.  We are more than conquerors through our Lord Jesus Christ and we are children of the Most High God therefore I AM WHO I AM lives in us and works His will through us.  Therefore, if God is for us who can be against us or what difference does it make who is against us for they cannot prevail?

May the Lord be with you as you move from victory to victory today and every day of your life!

Leave a Reply

