IF LIFE IS SIMPLE…


Spiritual Blog - Complicated

John 16:12-15 – “I still have many things to say to you, but you cannot bear them now.  13 However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come.  14 He will glorify Me, for He will take of what is Mine and declare it to you.  15 All things that the Father has are Mine. Therefore I said that He will take of Mine and declare it to you.”  NKJV

I read a quote attributed to Confucius,Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. I think there is a lot of truth in that but at the same time do not think life is simple.  I believe that life is often incredibly complex, confusing and sometimes conflicting and for that reason no human can successfully navigate it waters without guidance.  I would no more plan a cruise in a sailboat over waters and to a destination that I have not heretofore navigated without adequate charts, maps, bearings and possibly navigational assistance than attempt to fly a jet airplane.  I would have a general understanding of the direction but would not know the possible pitfalls along the route so I would seek guidance.

I know men are accused of being unwilling to stop and ask directions and male ego may be involved in believing that we know where we are going or can find our way but I do not believe this stereotype to be 100% accurate.  I have stopped numerous times to ask directions only to find that the people giving directions knew less about where I wanted to go than I and relied upon my natural instincts, sense of direction and previous training to find my way.  Having crossed two oceans by ship I have a limited understanding of the problem and need of navigational guidance as do pilots of airplanes.  In those cases we depend upon those who have gone before and created charts and maps, GPS, or other navigational assistance such as harbor pilots to guide us past or through the dangers.

We have a Life Pilot known as the Holy Spirit to help us navigate the difficult waters of life.  The question is:  “Do we rely on His guidance or attempt to go it alone?”  Unfortunately, it appears, too often we take the latter approach and either do not ask for the help of the Comforter or ignore His guidance.  Either way we do so to our hurt.  Life is either incredibly difficult or incredibly simple and which almost certainly depends on what or whom we rely for guidance.

Two of the most significant and impacting ministries of the Holy Spirit in the life of the believer are:  Guide us into All Truth and Comfort us in All Things.  He knows the mind of God.  He knows the pitfalls in our path.  He knows the secrets of our hearts.  He knows the motives and intents of those we deal with.  HE KNOWS and therefore is an Expert Life Guide.  If He guides us into All Truth and Jesus declared that it is Truth that makes us free why would we fail to accept His guidance?

Making life simple or difficult is largely our choice.  I say that simply in the light of God’s offer of guidance.  What is your choice?    May the Lord richly bless you, continually guide you, carefully guard you and abundantly cover you is my prayer!  Blessings!

Leave a Reply

