FATHERS AND FATHERING…


Spiritual Blog - Fathers

1 Corinthians 4:15-17 – “For though you might have ten thousand instructors in Christ, yet you do not have many fathers; for in Christ Jesus I have begotten you through the gospel. 16 Therefore I urge you, imitate me. 17 For this reason I have sent Timothy to you, who is my beloved and faithful son in the Lord, who will remind you of my ways in Christ, as I teach everywhere in every church.”  NKJV

Today is Father’s Day and as I reflect on my own earthly father I am so thankful for his influence in my life as well as my earthly grandfathers and how they helped shape my character through words, discipline and their lives.  They gave me an image of an earthly father that has proven invaluable in both the raising of my children and mentoring spiritual children.  Today, I salute all Fathers who are fathering their children earthly or spiritual.  God bless you!

Producing offspring does not make one a father but provides the opportunity to father.  There are those who father children who have never produced a single offspring in the natural but they have invested themselves in the lives of those children and provided them with the male role model, disciplined, taught and gave oversight to those lives nurturing them into adulthood and able to assume their place in society.  Those men deserve high praise!

When I think about this nation and our Founding Fathers I suggest that if one studies their writings and examine their contributions to the founding of this nation it could be argued they truly Fathered generations.  Today they are under assault by those who would rewrite history.  When I think about my own spiritual father(s) and their invaluable contribution in my life helping to shape, teach, train, nurture, discipline and guide me they gave me a standard to live up to and a goal to strive for spiritually and they are to be praised.  Most of us have been fathered by someone or more than one and today is a day to remember their contribution in our lives.

Yet there is one Father who deserves recognition above all others and that is our Heavenly Father!  Without His love we would not know the joy of salvation or have the promise of eternal life.  He so deeply loves us that He gave His only begotten son that we could have our sins forgiven.  He so deeply loves us that He refused to leave us comfortless and dispatched the Holy Spirit to guide us into all truth.  He so loves us that a place is being or has been prepared for us that where He is there we can be also for eternity.  Thank you Father for your love!

So on this special day set aside to honor fathers I encourage you to pay tribute to your own earthly father if he is still with you and if he has gone on to the other side then pause and remember his contribution to your life.  On this day I would encourage you to pay tribute to your spiritual father(s) if they are still on this side of eternity and if not then reflect on their contribution in your life.  If you are a father I urge you to take a moment and reflect on your privilege, duty and responsibility as a father and take your children in your arms (if possible) and let them know you love them.

So as you celebrate Father’s Day I pray that God make it a joyous day for you and your family.  Blessings to one and all on this special day!

Leave a Reply

