IF YOU THINK THIS IS BAD…


Spiritual Blog - Loving Jesus

Jeremiah 12:5 – “If you have run with the footmen, and they have wearied you, then how can you contend with horses? And if in the land of peace, in which you trusted, they wearied you, Then how will you do in the floodplain of the Jordan?”  NKJV

 

Most of us have experienced times when we didn’t think we could go on.  It seemed like everything that could go wrong had, was going or would go wrong and we were weary of life itself.  I recall praying with in a time of incredible hardship and in my lament I cried out to God saying, “I wouldn’t treat my kids like this, what can You be thinking to allow this?”  As I continued to moan and complain over my plight I felt a nudge of the Spirit of God directing me to this passage.  I opened my Bible and began to read.  As I read I felt my face flush, my heart began to race and I had severe shortness of breath.  After I finished reading I could not speak and after a few minutes I cried out, “I’m so sorry LORD!  I am so wrong!  Help me!” 

As I began to reflect on my situation I was ashamed of my reaction and response.  I knew instantly that I was being wearied by footmen and that things could and might get much worse.  I knew that if this was causing my confidence to crumble I would be in deep trouble if horse soldiers were loosed into the battle.  I realized that if the enemy came in like a flood and the banks of adversity overflowed I was in trouble so my response was to repent and cry for help.

Almost immediately things began to change.  We needed depositions from people to confirm our account and resolve the issue.  The attorney handling the situation said, “If we get 25% response we will be doing well.”  There were fourteen people who had firsthand knowledge of the matter and fourteen gave a sworn deposition confirming our position.  He called me and said, “I don’t really believe in miracles but this is a miracle.  I have never had this kind of response.”  We rejoiced in God’s marvelous response.  God had allowed me to be tested by the footmen and allowed me to moan and complain then in His incredible love and compassion brought me face to face with the truth and my response allowed Him to break the chains the enemy was attempting to place on us.

I am fully convinced that in the days to come most, if not all believers, will experience battles with the footmen.  Many are now encountering the hordes of hell’s infantry coming against them.  I plead with you to lift up your eyes and look to the hills knowing you are not alone.  If you will stand firm in the strength of your faith and the power of God you will not only overcome the footmen but when the mounted cavalry arrives you will be prepared for them as well.  When the flood gates of adversity are opened you will know that God will raise up a standard against the enemy and manifest the truth declared in Scripture that we are “more than conquerors through Jesus.”

If you think now is bad what will you do when it gets worse?  I am not trying to be gloom and doom but if you are a threat to the devil he will spare nothing in his attempt to shipwreck your faith.  My encouragement is to remember you are NOT ALONE!  You are NOT FORSAKEN!  You will OVERCOME!

            God bless you richly is my prayer!

Leave a Reply

