SILENCE UNTIL…


Spiritual Blog - Burning Hearts

Psalm 39:1-3 – “I said, “I will guard my ways, lest I sin with my tongue; I will restrain my mouth with a muzzle, while the wicked are before me.”  2 I was mute with silence, I held my peace even from good; and my sorrow was stirred up.  3 My heart was hot within me; while I was musing, the fire burned. Then I spoke with my tongue:” NKJV

 

So much in this passage and fits into the problem facing many today socially, morally, politically and spiritually.  The devil would like to silence voices of reason and righteousness and uses people to achieve his end.  He tries to shame us into silence or cause us to somehow believe that if we are not silent we are less than wholesome in our faith.  There is truth and error in that idea.

There is a time for silence.  The Psalmist said, “I will guard my ways, lest I sin with my tongue.”  It is not only possible but probable that if we allow our tongues to spew forth whatever is in our hearts or heads unchecked we will sin with our tongues.  He said, “I will restrain my mouth with a muzzle, while the wicked are before me.”  There is a definite reason to be incredibly careful what we say before the world for it is not only possible but likely it will be misunderstood, misconstrued and misapplied.  We must be “wise as serpents and harmless as doves” and must always be on the alert to “shun the very appearance of evil.”  We are also to guard against “wrath going unchecked” and are instructed to “not let the sun go down on our anger” as well as “being angry but without sin.”

He faced a dilemma in his desire to maintain right, guard his mouth, watch his words and resist sinning with his tongue.  His dilemma was truth and right, he pushed it too far and remained silent even with regard to good.  His heart became more and more broken over the conditions he saw before him and as a result the Holy Spirit started a fire inside the more he thought about what he saw and heard.  THEN, He opened his mouth and was silent no more.

In the next verses we find his confession and request that God enable him to know his end and the brevity of life on earth.  He asked God to remind him and teach him the weakness and frailty of humans realizing that we are here briefly and in so doing we will find a new boldness to stand up and speak up for right and righteousness.

Our present world is facing some catastrophic ideological conundrums and believers are or should be “watchmen on the walls”.  I am not suggesting that we turn every church into a political platform but I am suggesting that we defend those who cannot defend themselves such as the unborn.  I am suggesting that we present the alternative to everything the goes overly tolerant politically correct society and present Jesus Christ and Him crucified for sin.  I am suggesting that we issue the call for righteousness and transformation of hearts not forced compliance to man-made laws, rules and regulations.  I am suggesting that we contemplate what we see in our own lives and the world around us and allow the Holy Spirit to start a fire in our innermost being that cannot be shut up.  I am suggesting that we fall so completely in love with Jesus and have such a passion for lost humanity that we speak with our tongues the Message of the Cross, the Gospel of Jesus Christ and point me to the real answer.

Silence until… I am praying that many who are conspicuously silent today will find a fire burning so hot inside they will become mighty voices for God, good, right and righteousness.  May the Lord go with you as you go through this day!

 

Leave a Reply

