WHEN YOU FEEL FORSAKEN…

Spiritual Blog - Forsaken

Psalm 22:1-2 – “My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me? Why are You so far from helping Me, And from the words of My groaning?  2 O My God, I cry in the daytime, but You do not hear; And in the night season, and am not silent.”  NKJV

 

I’m sure those words are familiar and you recall them as the word of Jesus as He hung on the Cross, “Eloi, Eloi, Lama Sabachthani?”   The Bible translates that for us as, “My God, My God, why have You forsaken me?”  Upon crying out those words our Lord breathed His last and died.  The devil and much of the world thought it was over and despair hung over many of His followers.

Jesus had wrestled with His assignment in the days and possibly years prior to this event.  We find it recorded in the Gospels how in His agonizing in prayer in the Garden that His sweat became like great drops of blood falling to the ground.  The greatest suffering Jesus could endure was the Father turning His back on Him as He became sin for mankind.  It was not turning His back on Jesus but turning His back on sin and that momentary separation was almost unbearable for our Lord.

I have experienced being forsaken by people and the pain was excruciating.  I have had times that I felt my prayers were nothing more than words falling from my lips unheard and unheeded by God.  The pain that results emotionally and physically is beyond description.  It was in those times that I had to hold firm to my confidence that God’s word is true and God is a keeper of His promises.  I could not feel Him and could see no evidence of His presence or concern but my heart and mind refused to relinquish my grip on His promise and in due time He responded.

When you are or feel forsaken that sense of hopelessness never leaves, day or night.  You are emotionally drained, relationally impaired and often find that it affects your physical body.  Sleep is often impossible.  You find yourself incapable of concentration and productivity.  The feeling or sense of isolation and abandonment is with you 24/7 as an unshakable tormentor.  It is in those times that you must determine to maintain your confidence and trust.  That is possible providing you have established a spiritual bank account from which to draw in your time of barrenness.  How do you do that?  You maintain a steady diet and habit of communing with the LORD in prayer, praise and worship as well as your intake of spiritual food from the Word of God.  You also draw from the strength that has been infused into you by the Holy Spirit, the promised Comforter.

I am not saying you will experience a time when you feel forsaken but IF YOU DO remember.  Do not cast away your confidence.  Having done all to stand, STAND!  He will never leave you nor forsake you.

            God bless you as you go through this day!

