YOU CAME TOO LATE TO CONVINCE ME OTHERWISE…


Spiritual Blog - Fearfully and Wondrfully Made

Psalm 139:13-16 – “For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. 14 I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well. 15 My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.  16 Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, The days fashioned for me, When as yet there were none of them.”  NKJV

 

It is impossible for me to consider the human body and not believe in a creator and creation.  It is impossible for me to consider the function of the human body and believe in the theory of evolution.  When I consider what we know from medical science about the human body’s makeup and function I find it beyond my ability to believe in chance.

When I consider the human body as a finely tuned precision machine I only have to go to the heart to stand in awe.  It is estimated that the human heart beats 103,689 in a single day and the blood travels 168 MILLION miles each day.  We are told that the digestive system processes 7.8 pounds of waste and our lungs take in 438 cubic feet of air daily.  That is nothing short of incredible.  We are told that our bodies have over 200 different kinds of cells and there are 5 trillion cells overall.  Then, when I take the knowledge that it all began with a single cell, a fertilized egg, no larger than a small dot.  That cell becomes two cells, then four, eight and so on.  Each cell or group of cells performs a specific function and produces tissue, bone and all the parts of the human body.

The heart pumps the blood, the liver (which has over 500 functions) helps to rid the body of poisons, stores vitamins and the brain interprets the electrical signals and functions as a light speed computer sending commands throughout the system.  The human body has the capacity to self-heal if provided the right fuels and care and like no other creature on the planet functions, communicates and creates.

To ask me to believe this all just happened is more than I can muster faith for.  I believe the Bible that we are “fearfully and wonderfully made”.  I believe that God designed our human bodies and Adam was created from the dust of the earth and became a living soul when God breathed the breath of life into him.  I believe that God spoke the worlds into existence, hanging the stars, sun and moon in place, aligning the planets and determining the perfect planetary orbit for earth to cause it to be conducive for life and human existence.  I believe that God knew and determined what I would look like before my parents copulated and conception occurred.  When did I begin?  I began in eternity past in the heart of God and will live eternally in His presence. 

Yes, we are fearfully and wonderfully MADE or CREATED we did not just happen.  We live and move and have our being through Him.  Some scoff at my simplistic view of man and attempt to tell me that science does not validate my beliefs but I challenge you to consider the human body, all the works of science and the Bible.  I believe that if you do you will have much the same experience an atheistic Russian scientist who accepted Christ.  When asked what caused him to believe in God.  He replied, “My thumb.”  He went on to declare that the function of the thumb was beyond his ability to explain away and was so absolutely perfect he could see not possibility but a creator.  You may scoff at that too but if you seek to dissuade me from believing in God and Creation you have arrived too late.  For, I know whom I have believed and am persuaded…

            God bless you as you go through this day!

Leave a Reply

