ASKING GOD FOR FORGIVENESS???


Spiritual Blog - Forgiveness

1 John 1:8-10 – “If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. 9 If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 10 If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar, and His word is not in us.”  NKJV

 

Recently I heard a politician say they did not remember whether or not they asked God for forgiveness.  To be fair, I have heard people in Churches say the same thing.  Is that a problem biblically?  On the surface, it would seem so but let me pose several questions in response to anyone saying, “I don’t remember asking God for forgiveness.”

  • Do you believe you have anything to ask forgiveness for?

That would be a far more telling question than “Do you remember asking.”  If the response is NO then this passage directly addresses it and reveals a deep problem.  The Bible tells us plainly that ALL have sinned and come short of the glory of God…” [Romans 3:23].  Jesus made it even more powerful in Luke 13:3 saying, “No, I tell you; but unless you repent, you will all likewise perish.”  Romans 10:10 offers hope, “For with the heart one believes and is justified, and with the mouth one confesses and is saved.”

If I do not believe I have need of forgiveness I am hopelessly lost.

  • Do you believe your good deeds outweigh your transgressions and thereby affords you justification without repentance?

Some truly believe that because they are “good people” and do not do gross wickedness they are OKAY without the need of repentance.  They, like the Pharisee in Luke 18:11 as he compared himself to other people and cited his commendable traits and actions as justification without humility and repentance.

Jesus said, “I am the WAY, the TRUTH, and the LIFE: no man comes unto the Father, but by Me.”  In John 10:9 our Lord declared, I AM THE DOOR, if anyone enters through Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture.”  Then our LORD declared in John 3:7, “Marvel not that I said unto you, You must be born again.”  And the apostle Paul informed us by the Spirit of God in 2 Corinthians 5:17, “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”

I find it difficult to fathom anyone having that experience and not knowing it or remembering it.  You may disagree and I know believers, who I believe are genuine in their Christian experience, who say, “I don’t remember not being a Christian.”  They were converted at an early age but most if not all of them remember the experience of salvation.  I do not make my experience a rule for everyone but I clearly remember the moment I asked for forgiveness and received the newness of life in my heart and was “born again”.  My life dramatically changed and people who knew me, without me telling them, knew it as well.  But, I was an adult when converted not a child.

If you do not remember asking God for forgiveness now would be a wonderful time to do so.  If you know and believe that ALL HAVE SINNED and come short of the glory of God then there is hope for your eternal soul.  If you do not feel that you have anything to repent of or feel that your personal goodness is enough, even if you asked forgiveness it would be meaningless for there would be no genuine repentance.  Today is the accepted time and there is no promise of tomorrow, therefore, I urge you to call on God seeking His mercy, forgiveness, pardon, and redemption.

            God bless you as you go through this day!

Leave a Reply

