MY DAILY PRAYER AND PURSUIT – [Part II]…


Spiritual Blog - Walk on Water

Psalm 51:10-13 –Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me. 11 Do not cast me away from Your presence, And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me.

 12 Restore to me the joy of Your salvation, And uphold me by Your generous Spirit.  13 Then I will teach transgressors Your ways, And sinners shall be converted to You.”  NKJV

  

Now, back to the prayer of David and my daily prayer, desire and pursuit.  The meat of the matter is found in these verses, not to exclude the verses prior and subsequent but these convey a powerful truth, for me.  Let’s walk through David’s specific request and examine it briefly.

  • CREATE IN ME A CLEAN HEART

He is not asking God to simply “mend” his heart but give him a “brand new heart” and one that has been cleansed by the Blood of the Lamb.  He is not asking for help to turn over a new leaf but a total transformation of his life.  He wants to be “made new.”  I believe that is echoed by Paul in the New Testament when he says, “Neither circumcision availeth anything, nor uncircumcision, but a new creation…”  This comes through God’s mercy and grace and is a result of our believing Him, receiving Him, and full confession of our sin.   Oh God, don’t just put a Band-Aid on my sinful condition but GIVE ME A NEW HEART that has been WASHED IN THE BLOOD OF THE LAMB. 

I do not suggest that we need to keep coming back to God to SAVE US but we do allow sin to taint us from time to time and we need Him to purge out the dross.  Thus, I pray!

  • RENEW IN ME A STEADFAST OR RIGHT SPIRIT

I want to exhibit constant and be consistent in my work and walk before God and man.  I want a spirit that is not easily moved by the adversities of this life.  I want a spirit that weathers the waves of adversity and is not tossed to and fro by events, circumstances, and conditions encountered.  Renew in me, FAITHFULNESS to the level of my first love so that I am like a rock.

  • DO NOT CAST ME AWAY FROM YOUR PRESENCE

I know He has promised to NEVER leave us nor forsake us and as Moses prayed, “If your presence does not go with us I do not want to go.”  Lord, help me to be conscious of the shelter of your covering and the power of your presence in my life.  It will not only encourage me in times of trouble but will be an anchor to keep me steady at all times.  I need your presence, at all times, Oh Lord!

  • DO NOT TAKE YOUR HOLY SPIRIT FROM ME.

Lord, I know that without the conviction of the Holy Spirit pricking my conscience I could easily drift into error and sin, therefore, I ask that your Holy Spirit is always present and prevalent in my life.  I want you to “convict” and “convince” me of sin.  I want the helper who is to be my teacher and guide to ALWAYS be present in my life.  I want the one who shines light into darkness to be powerfully present in my life, at all times.

  • RESTORE TO ME THE JOY OF YOUR SALVATION

Weeping last for the night but joy comes in the morning and Lord, I want the Joy unspeakable and the Glory beyond comprehension in my life to be so prevalent, powerful, and present it spills over to others impacting them positively for good.  Lord, do not let me by like the Church of Ephesus in Revelation 2 where you say of me that I have “left my first love.”   Lord, give me the infectious Joy of Salvation!

This is a prayer that I pray and a path I pursue daily in my life and pray it for you as well.  I am not suggesting that you are living in sin but that you enjoy all that God has for you in this present world and in the world to come LIFE EVERLASTING!

            God bless you as you go through this wonderful day in Him!

Leave a Reply

