QUESTIONING GOD…


Spiritual Blog - Questioning

Job 13:15-19 – “Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him. Even so, I will defend my own ways before Him. 16 He also shall be my salvation, For a hypocrite could not come before Him. 17 Listen carefully to my speech, And to my declaration with your ears. 18 See now, I have prepared my case, I know that I shall be vindicated. 19 Who is he who will contend with me?  If now I hold my tongue, I perish.”  NKJV

 

I ask questions, it is my nature when I do not understand because without understanding I cannot form a right opinion, make a right judgment, and pursue a right course.  I have even “questioned” God.  Please understand it was not questioning His existence, sovereignty, integrity or power, it was out of a NEED TO KNOW or know more fully and completely.  There have been times when He answered me and times when he remained silent and allowed me to struggle with the question.

 

I shared that reality with a congregation and some thought I had committed unpardonable blasphemy.  Their attitude was, how dare anyone question God!  The real issue, to me, is not questioning God but how, why, and/or what we question.  What is our reason and what is our question?  If it is a genuine desire for clarification, not a challenge to His supremacy I believe it is not only acceptable but worthwhile.  If it is questioning Him as God then it is not only foolish but dangerous.  Habakkuk questioned God’s timing and it is interesting that God did not rebuke him for the question but patiently and gently answered the prophet.  King Saul questioned God in 1 Samuel 28 and God was silent, not answering his questions.  In one case it was a need for clarification not self-serving and in the other quite the opposite.

Likewise, if I do not understand I cannot truly trust and as Hebrews 11:6 declares, “…without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to Him must believe He is and is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.”  Questioning God is not, in and of itself, wrong and you should not feel guilty when you have questions.  I was cautious in questioning my earthly father but dared to, at times.  I was usually careful to be sure he knew I was not questioning his authority or edict but my question was so I would better understand.  There were times he answered me in detail and I was able to see the bigger picture and other times, he simply said, “Just do it.”  I accepted both and do the same with God.  There are times when we must simply obey without full clarification and other times when He will give us more information and often in those cases we will be asked to pass that along to others with similar questions.

Gideon, a man mightily used of God in his battle with the Midianites had a myriad of questions when the angel issued God’s call.  Gideon’s concerns did bring into question God’s goodness, power, and promises but the heart of why he was asking is clear as well, at least to me.  Gideon was not convinced he had heard God correctly and his questions were more about Gideon’s perceived ability than God’s power.  Gideon was making a mistake we often make, he was focusing on self and how he could carry out the directive.  It is not us but God that is the source of strength, ability, and wisdom to carry out the directive it is “in” and “from” God.  Gideon’s questions went beyond that of most and out of his questioning came “fleeces” which are often direct challenges to God but ultimately his questions became assurances and he followed through with God’s purposes.

If you have questions, God already knows so why pretend?  Which would be better, having questions and resisting or finding answers and fully committing to the assignment?  If my children or any person whom I exercised authority or oversight had questions I would far rather they asked than half-heartedly followed my request or instructions.  If they KNOW they can more readily OBEY and IMPLEMENT.

            God bless you as you go through this wonderful day in Christ!

Leave a Reply

