GOD IS AN AWESOME GOD… Not Big Daddy.


Spiritual Blog - God

Revelation 1:12-20 – “Then I turned to see the voice that spoke with me. And having turned I saw seven golden lampstands, 13 and in the midst of the seven lampstands One like the Son of Man, clothed with a garment down to the feet and girded about the chest with a golden band. 14 His head and hair were white like wool, as white as snow, and His eyes like a flame of fire; 15 His feet were like fine brass, as if refined in a furnace, and His voice as the sound of many waters; 16 He had in His right hand seven stars, out of His mouth went a sharp two-edged sword, and His countenance was like the sun shining in its strength. 17 And when I saw Him, I fell at His feet as dead. But He laid His right hand on me, saying to me, “Do not be afraid; I am the First and the Last.  18 I am He who lives, and was dead, and behold, I am alive forevermore. Amen. And I have the keys of Hades and of Death.  19 Write the things which you have seen, and the things which are, and the things which will take place after this.  20 The mystery of the seven stars which you saw in My right hand, and the seven golden lampstands: The seven stars are the angels of the seven churches, and the seven lampstands which you saw are the seven churches.”  NKJV

 

Through the years I’ve heard people refer to God as “Big Daddy” and while I completely understand and agree that God is our Father, He is still God!  When I think about this text and how John the Revelator, a close associate and disciple of Jesus responded when he realized He was in the Presence of God.  It was not a flippant or casual, “Hey Bro. how are you doing?”  It was “prostrating himself before the LORD with trembling and fear.”  He knew he was in the presence of GOD and that was not taken lightly by the apostle.

If, an apostle who leaned on Jesus’ chest during the Last Supper and a man who was one of the three who were the closest to the LORD, responded in this manner who are we to think we will just casually march into heaven and not stand in awe?  Few of us, if any, would enter the presence of earthly dignitaries such as kings or presidents with a flippant attitude but would enter with some trepidation.  We are not talking about an earthly King but the LORD OF LORDS and KING OF KINGS. We are talking about the Creator of all in existence.  We are talking about the Savior of our Souls.  We are talking about JEHOVAH GOD! 

I can only imagine standing before His throne and although we have heard the words, “Well done, good and faithful servant, enter into the joys of your Lord” we will, without a doubt, find the experience of His presence so overpowering we will respond as John on Patmos.  Yes, He has instructed us to “come boldly before the throne of grace” but He did not instruct us to come with an attitude that forgets WHO HE IS.  Those receiving crowns will cast them at His feet in reverence and awe.  When I pray and petition the Father through Jesus I always keep in mind that I am entering the presence of the ALMIGHTY. 

I am troubled by something that may give you no pause or concern.  I am troubled when people speak of or act toward God without demonstrated recognition that HE IS GOD!  We are not and will never be on His level.  We are created beings, He is uncreated.  We live and move and have our being only by and through Him.  Psalm 33:8, “Let all the earth fear the Lord; let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of Him!”  Psalm 110:10, “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom; all those who practice it have a good understanding.  His praise endures forever!”  In Leviticus 9:22-24 we find Israel falling on their faces in fear, reverence, respect, awe, and wonder knowing that God was in their midst.  God is an awesome God and we must never forget HE IS GOD!

Let me suggest that everyone who declares they will march right up to the throne and demand answers to the questions of life are in for a rude awakening when they stand before the Throne.  HE IS GOD!   What does that mean to you?  HE IS GOD!  How does that tug at your heart strings?  HE IS GOD!  Yes, our God is an awesome God and HE REIGNS!

God bless you and I will continue allowing the Holy Spirit to expand the reverence I have for God and while I long to see Jesus face to face in Heaven, I know that as John crumbled before Him, so will I.  THEN, He will lift us up and we will embark on the journey of eternity in His Presence evermore!

God bless you is my prayer and desire!

Leave a Reply

