PERMANENT RESIDENCE – In His Presence…


Spiritual Blog - Presence

Psalm 139:7-12 – “Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence?

8 If I ascend into heaven, You are there; If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there. 9 If I take the wings of the morning, And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, 10 Even there Your hand shall lead me, And Your right hand shall hold me. 11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,” Even the night shall be light about me; 12 Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You, But the night shines as the day; The darkness and the light are both alike to You.”  NKJV

  

Many have known the exuberance, peace, and refreshing of the presence of God so real and powerful it was beyond description.  Unfortunately, we often equate that kind of experience with what being “In His Presence” really is and seek the feeling rather than the peace of knowing.  I like feeling good but I want to have more than my feelings or emotions as my guide or the determination of my condition spiritually.  Isaiah made an incredibly powerful statement in Isaiah 26:3, “You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You.”  From the first time I read that to this day, it still resonates and grips my heart in a most powerful way.  PERFECT PEACE that is what the promise is for keeping our “minds fixed on God” and “trusting Him.”  PERFECT PEACE!  Remember what our LORD in John 14:27, “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you…”  The apostle Paul echoed and expanded that truth in Philippians 4:6-7, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”  PERFECT PEACE is a peace that is beyond human comprehension or ability to produce.  IT IS A DIVINE IMPARTATION that can only be experienced IN CHRIST and is not dependent on the emotions.

We know from numerous passages as well as Acts 7:48, that God does not dwell in houses made with hands but in human hearts!  We are encouraged in Psalm 100:2, “Serve the Lord with gladness!  Come into His presence with singing!”  Then James tells us in James 4:8, “Draw near to God, and He will draw near to you.”  The Psalmist declared in Psalm 145:18, “The Lord is near to all who call on Him, to all who call on Him in truth.”  I contend that God has made provision for us to have PERMANENT RESIDENCE in His Presence.  We may not be emotionally overflowing at all times but we are at all times IN HIS PRESENCE and that knowledge should afford us INCREDIBLE PEACE.  No, it gives us PERFECT PEACE, a peace that is beyond human understanding and a peace the world neither understands nor can duplicate.

I encourage you rather than seeking an emotional experience that brings an outward demonstration seek HIM and in Him know PERFECT PEACE and walk daily in that confidence that HE IS THERE and will never leave nor forsake us.  Take the words of Isaiah to heart and allow the Holy Spirit to move you into the pursuit and reality of Jesus’ words in Matthew 6:33 where we SEEK FIRST God and His Kingdom and in so doing walk in PERFECT PEACE and enjoy His BOUNTIFUL PROVISIONS.

            God bless you as you make Jesus’ Presence your Permanent Residence!

 

Leave a Reply

