MY FAITH, THE BIBLE, and ABORTION…


Spiritual Blog - Bible

Exodus 20:13 – “You shall not murder.”  NKJV

 

Now that I have possibly offended some who will challenge my statement and find any connection of abortion to murder unacceptable, I ask that you give me the opportunity to explain my conviction in this area.  I readily acknowledge that the Bible does not specifically discuss abortion.  I recognize that some argue that since it is not specifically mentioned there is no prohibition scripturally but I would suggest that we must also consider the Bible specific and explicit commandments regarding the “killing of innocent people.”  Of course, the argument would immediately come back that the “baby in the womb” or “fetus” as they would prefer, is not a “human being” but simply a blob of tissue like a tumor and has no standing in the human family UNTIL it is fully birthed.  Tragically, we are aware that even then, some find it acceptable to snuff out the life of that baby born through a botched abortion.

I have sought to examine the Bible’s definition of a “person” and “life”.  In the historic research, I have found that a number of ancient societies opposed abortion and when I consider the Hebrews as a people they had a very powerful biblical foundation for opposition.  We know, from Genesis 1:27 that we (human beings) are created in the image and likeness of God.  I find no place in scripture where the determination of a “person” is dependent upon age, stage of development, mental, physical or even social skills.  It is, as I understand the Bible, conferred or endowed by God at the moment of creation.  It is my conviction that that moment of creation can be nothing other than conception for that is when that life begins which becomes that baby born into society.

We find a Hebrew word in Exodus 21,‘yeled’ which refers to the unborn but includes young children and even refers to teens and young adults, at times.  The Hebrews did not have a separate word for unborn children. We do, and largely the word fetus was and is used to justify our consideration of an unborn child as something other than a ‘human being’.   I cannot do that!  I view the unborn child like I do pregnancy, you cannot be almost pregnant or a little pregnant you either are or you are not and that unborn creation in the womb is either a child, a human being or it is not.  Thus, we see the divide in the interpretation of life, but what is God’s definition of life?  That is or should be the determining factor in determining our attitude toward abortion.

Job, in Job 10, described the way God created him BEFORE he was born.  That something in my mother’s womb was not a blob of tissue that might one day become Roy Beaird, it was the child that would be named Roy Beaird.  God spoke to Isaiah in Isaiah 44:2 saying, “This is what the Lord says – He who made you, who formed you in the womb.”  That cannot be construed to mean that Isaiah was not a human being created by God until he was fully birthed.  He was a human being, a created being in the womb.  David declared in his prayer and praise before God in Psalm 139:13-15 that God formed his inward parts while in his mother’s womb and proclaimed that he, David, was fearfully and wonderfully made.  In verse 16, David proclaims, “Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.  And in Your book they were all written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them.”  How can I not believe that that life in the womb is a created being, a human being, and a living creature?  I believe!

When we consider the twins in Rebekah’s womb the Bible refers to them saying, “The babies struggled (jostled) each other within her.”  (Genesis 25:22).  God even said in verse 23, “Two nations are in your womb, two peoples shall be separated from your body; one people shall be stronger than the other, and the older shall serve the younger.”  How can I not conclude that that being in the womb is a Living Human Being?  Also, we dare not forget the words of Gabriel to Mary concerning Jesus, telling her she would be “with child”, not with something that might someday be a child but she was WITH CHILD!

The command, “You shall not murder” was sufficient for every Hebrew understood that the life in the womb was a person, an innocent person and to abort that baby could be murder in God’s eyes.  Psalm 127:3-5 informs us that, “…Children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb is a reward…”  Therefore, as I would oppose the murder of any innocent human being I oppose abortion for that defenseless life in the mother’s womb is God’s creation the same as you and I and that life is precious in the sight of God and must be protected.

You may disagree but I urge you to prayerfully consider God’s attitude toward life before you toss aside my plea to protect the babies, born or unborn.  God bless you is my desire and prayer!

Leave a Reply

