DO YOU FIND IT HARD TO WAIT???


Spiritual Blog - Waiting

Psalm 62:1-8 – “Truly my soul silently waits for God; From Him comes my salvation. 2 He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be greatly moved. 

3 How long will you attack a man? You shall be slain, all of you, Like a leaning wall and a tottering fence. 4 They only consult to cast him down from his high position; they delight in lies; they bless with their mouth, but they curse inwardly. Selah 

5 My soul, wait silently for God alone, for my expectation is from Him. 6 He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be moved.  7 In God is my salvation and my glory; the rock of my strength, And my refuge, is in God. 

8 Trust in Him at all times, you people; Pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us.”  NKJV

 

One of the most quoted passages among the Christians I know is Isaiah 40:31 – “But those who wait on the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.”  NKJV.  Quoting it is one thing, practicing it quite another.  I have become convinced by study, observation and personal experience that most of us are very bad at WAITING.  I am reminded of a sign I saw once, “Lord, give me patience… And I want it right now!!!”  It is very difficult to wait in a microwave word with lightning fast computers, smartphones, fast food, etc.  We live in a society where photographs are now largely digital providing instant feedback, freeways have express lanes, and virtually everywhere you go there is a drive-through for quick service.  We want what we want yesterday if not sooner!  I heard the story of a man who would demand his wife buy seedless grapes. She argued that the grapes with seeds had more flavor but he was too impatient to remove the seeds.  We want things easy, quick and convenient.   I had a person tell me once, “I have patience, it’s the waiting that I have a problem with.”

That hurts!  I confess I would rather do almost anything than wait.  I do not wait well and standing in line is one of my major torments.  In fact, many would rather do it wrong than wait. We hate waiting and that is problematic in developing a relationship with God that produces faith and spiritual victory.  That being said, I have found that WAITING is the rule rather than the exception in life.  The exception is the OPEN DOOR.  Just because a door is closed does not mean that we are out of the will of God or that door is not God’s will, it sometimes means it is not God’s time.  Waiting may be exactly what God wants you to do at that moment.

I know people who are so impatient and driven to be in control they cannot remain in one lane while driving and will change lanes twenty times in the span of a few miles simply trying to get ahead of one car.  They make no real progress but impatience grips them.  In life, we probably face more red (stop lights) and yellow (caution lights) than we do green (go lights).  If you have been in the military you are familiar with the saying, “hurry up and wait.”  In life, we wait, wait, and wait.  What we need to learn is that WAITING ON GOD is supposed to be resting rather than worrying or fretting.  Some people have gotten good at faking waiting!  They are torn up inside but put on that plastic front that says they are at peace when anything but peace is in their heart or mind.

Genuine patience is something that is acquired through learning to fully and completely trust God.  Genuine patience enables us to enjoy TRUE PEACE at all times and in all things. That makes the Psalm of our text so powerful.  It offers us helpful guidance for VICTORIOUS WAITING in and on the Lord!  The truth is, we do not need lengthy teaching on the Art of Waiting, we need long practice times!  Most of us know about waiting, what we need to do is WAIT!

I will tap the brakes here and pause until the next devotional and hopefully offer some helpful insight into both the benefit and practice of waiting.  God bless you and keep you as you embark on today’s journey!

Leave a Reply

