DO YOU FIND IT HARD TO WAIT???


Spiritual Blog - Waiting

Psalm 62:1-8 – “Truly my soul silently waits for God; From Him comes my salvation.   2 He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be greatly moved. 

3 How long will you attack a man? You shall be slain, all of you, Like a leaning wall and a tottering fence. 4 They only consult to cast him down from his high position; they delight in lies; they bless with their mouth, but they curse inwardly.  Selah 

5 My soul, wait silently for God alone, for my expectation is from Him. 6 He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be moved.  7 In God is my salvation and my glory; the rock of my strength, And my refuge, is in God. 

8 Trust in Him at all times, you people; Pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us.”  NKJV

            Verse one of this Psalm should never be read superficially but meditated upon and studied prayerfully.  The literal Hebrew reads almost backward from the English translation.  It reads:  “Only for God in silence does my soul wait.”  The word translated SILENCE comes from the Hebrew verb that means:  “to whisper softly.” This carries the idea of whispering a secret to someone you love but not loud enough for others to hear.  In this case, it is only for God to hear or speak.  The word ONLY appears six (6) times in this Psalm which cries out to me that, for David, there is no one else but the LORD!

I ask you to consider the following in our discussion of WAITING.

  • We are to WAIT for God to direct our steps.

The Psalmist says, “My soul waits in silence for God only.”  Never run ahead.  WAIT!  A red light means “wait and watch carefully.”  You cannot run and wait at the same time.  The ability and strength to run come after and through waiting.  We all know the story of Ahimaz begging Joab to let him run although he did not have the green light.  He even outran the man with the message Cushi and when he reached the King he was turned aside.  God told Moses when standing at the Red Sea with the army of Egypt coming fast from behind, “Stand Still and See the Salvation of the LORD!”

In verse one, we find David’s declaration and in verse five we find his command, “My soul, wait in silence for God only.”  We would do well to note that David is talking to himself.  He is directing his will and instructing his inner man – – WAIT FOR GOD!  He will direct my steps.  This is not easy when we are impatient and anxious to run.  We dare not forget that Jesus said, “My sheep hear My voice and know Me.”  It is imperative that we learn to hear and know the voice of our Great Shepherd.

  • We are to TRUST God to provide our needs.

“From Him is my salvation,” is the continuation of verse one.  Then, in verse two we read, “He only is my Rock…”  The directive is simple, we are to wait on Him, trusting Him to provide.  The only question is, “Are We Doing That?”  Many of us, who have been around church for any length of time have heard, “Wait for God” or “Trust God to supply your needs.”  Some seem to act as though they have outgrown that.  Some things are only learned through experience and time rather than teaching and books.  When we consider the record of God we quickly realize HE DOES NOT FAIL.  Therefore, we can TRUST Him confident that He is El-Shaddai.  He will, in due season, provide the green light, open door, and provision.

When we wait on God to direct our steps – HE DOES.  When we trust God to meet our needs – HE DOES.

God be with your guarding and guiding you as you proceed on the planned path of this day! 

 

Leave a Reply

