HOW MUCH IS YOUR SOUL WORTH??? – – [Continued]


Spiritual Blog - Value

1 Thessalonians 5:23 – “Now may the God of peace Himself sanctify you completely; and may your whole spirit, soul, and body be preserved blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.”  NKJV

Matthew 16:26 – “For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?”  NKJV

 

Back to the title question – Have you ever asked God what He thinks of you?  Do it right now.  Have you ever asked Him how much you are worth to Him?  Do it right now.  Let me tell you that I believe and the Bible teaches that you are worth as much to God as God Himself.  WHY?  Because WORTH is often determined by the price paid and what price did God pay for you and me?

Have you ever noticed that if something is valuable we take care of it?  What about our souls?  Matthew 16:26 declares, “For what will a man be profited, if he gains the whole world, and forfeits his soul?  Or what will he give in exchange for his soul?”  Great questions.  That should be interesting, challenging and arresting, especially when you examine the Greek text. This is not about lost souls going to hell in the use of the “forfeit.”  That word translated forfeit in the Greek is [zemios] not [appolumi] which would be lost sheep alienated from God.  Zemios indicates damage.  1 Corinthians 3:15, “If any man’s work is burned up, he shall suffer loss, but he himself shall be saved, yet so as by fire.”  The idea conveyed is that of going through life and into eternity without having reached your full potential.  Thus, the soul is worth the price of its health.

HOW DO YOU DETERMINE VALUE?

There are at least six (6) ways and we will look at each of them briefly.  There will not be time for exhaustive consideration but hopefully, these highlights will set your mind and heart to thinking and you will meditate on this issue much more in the days to come.  I believe that once you see this you will have a transformed life and view of your relationship with God and your Christian walk and potential.

  • Who Made It?

My declaration:  “I am a person of excellent worth because God, the Creator of All Things, is my maker.  He designed me and gave me life.  I am precious in His sight and my soul is extremely valuable because I am God made.”

  • What Was Made?

The value of an object is measured by its complexity or magnitude and our value is in our God created nature.  Therefore, I declare, “I am a magnificent person.  I am made by the Eternal God, in His image and likeness and everything He makes is first-rate, but nothing in creation matches the status of the human being because we are made like Him.  We have the potential for fellowship with Him because we are made in His image.”

  • Uniqueness and/or Scarcity.

We are originals.  You are one of one, there has never been another like you in history, nor will there ever be.  You are an original and that makes you priceless.

  • Personal Preference and Choice.

God choose us. He created then redeemed me because He wanted to.  He knew all about me, not only my past but my present and future and KNOWING ME He still saw value in me and chose me.  He called me and will complete me.  I and you are therefore of incredible worth to God.

  • Potential Value or Worth.

It is an act of faith to see the valuable potential in me.  I, therefore, will not overreact to my wrong behavior or be reinforced by it.  We are able, by God’s Grace, to not only see the best in us but bring out the best with the help of the Holy Spirit.  Because God made me and saved me I have unlimited potential and therefore of great value.

If you could only have one car for the rest of your days on earth, you would take good care of it, right?  We are “forever”, and there will never be another you or me.  There can be a changed me, but not a replacement.  In our redeemed state,we can choose to be developed or undeveloped.  Part of the intrinsic value of our soul is its permanence, therefore, I determine to take care of the only me I will ever have or be.

Since I am highly valuable to God I must realize that my life in this human house can be fuller and better than I ever dreamed.  My health, happiness, and success in the overlapping physical and spiritual words comprise the practical part of why I must keep my soul healthy, whole and growing.  It is more important to keep myself whole and healthy than to gain the whole world.

  • The Price Tag.

God loved each of us enough that He was willing to pay the price of His only begotten son being nailed to a Cross for us.  The Holy Spirit now lives inside me and is guarding and guiding my footsteps.  Because of the Price paid for my soul, God deems me the value of Christ.  That is humbling and even frightening that God loves us that much!

Therefore, consider your worth.  God made you.  You were created in His image and likeness.  You are one of a kind, an original.  God wanted you, choose you, and called you.  You have the potential to be like Christ Jesus our Lord.  You are a permanent being.  Your soul’s health brings practical here and now benefits.  You were purchased at a Great Price.  Therefore, how can you even question your value or worth?  How can you ever believe that God does not value you?   If the devil suggests you are worthless remind him of your value through Christ Jesus.

God bless you as you go through this marvelous day in Him!

Leave a Reply

