THE CONFIDENCE OF GOD…


spiritual-blog-confidence-1

Job 1:4 – “Then the LORD said to Satan, “Have you considered My servant Job, that there is none like him on the earth, a blameless and upright man, one who fears God and shuns evil?” NKJV

 

Let me declare at the outset that I am fully aware and confident in the Omniscience of God.  HE KNOWS so this was not God trying to find out what was in the heart of Job but a demonstration of God’s Confidence in a righteous person.  It served as a life lesson and illustration of God’s faithfulness and man’s frailty to the devil and those who encountered Job as well as to the generations that would follow.

I heard a preacher say once, regarding what God did, “God don’t sic the devil on me!”  He was serious and from his commentary I wondered if he was accusing God of being unkind.  That was not his intent but that is how it could have been construed by anyone listening and that would be incredibly sad.  As I look at this account I consider it an expression of God Incredible Confidence in Job.  Yes, Job had a great loss in the natural but in the end, his reward and relationship with God were strengthened almost beyond imagination.  NO, I do not think God was being sadistic in His question to the devil regarding Job. 

I have wondered, in some of my times of difficulty, if God had asked the devil, “Have you considered my servant Roy?”  Then, my human frailty and the recognizable kinks in my spiritual armor flooded my mind.  I do not allow myself to elevate my personal estimation of my righteousness to the point that I become puffed up and thereby allow the seed of self-righteousness could grow.  However, I do want to live in such a manner that I am fully confident that on that final day I will stand before the Lord and hear, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant, enter into the joys of your Lord.”  NO, I do not think that we can earn God’s grace and fully comprehend that “our righteousness in comparison to that of Jesus could be compared to a filthy rag.” 

spiritual-blog-confidence

If we stand like Paul and can honestly make the affirmation,” For I know the one in whom I have placed my confidence, and I am perfectly certain that the work he has committed to me is safe in his hands until that day.” (2 Timothy 1:12).  The Prophet Isaiah declared,The fruit of that righteousness will be peace; its effect will be quietness and confidence forever.”  (Isaiah 32:17).  It should be the compelling desire and pursuit of every believer live such a life and present such a character that God’s Confidence in us could be as He expressed in Job in days of old.  Abraham was called ‘the friend of God’ and it is my desire that God would not only consider me His servant and bond-slave but His friend and could have the confidence in me to make the same assertion as He did of Job.

Another side of that coin and a topic for another message would be that we would, as Job, come through the other our time of difficulty resisting the plea of the world and the devil and even well-meaning friends to “curse God and die.”  NO, I do not want nor do I pray for suffering but the words of James resonate in my spirit. We can be confident in God that even in times of trial He is faithful and once the trial is complete we will come forth a finely refined gold.  The saying often used by Burton McCafferty is worthy of mention, “God can pull us through anything if we can stand the pull.”  Then the words of Paul encourage us that when we have done all to stand to just keep on standing, and keep trusting God’s Grace, Promise, Purpose, and Power!

God bless you richly as you enjoy this day in Him!

Leave a Reply

