LET’S TALK ABOUT WHEN LIFE BEGINS…


spiritual-blog-life-bible

Jeremiah 1:4-5 – “Now the word of the LORD came to me saying, 5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I have appointed you a prophet to the nations.”  NASU

 

In my own nation, the United States of America, the debate rages even among people who profess Jesus Christ as their personal savior about WHEN LIFE BEGINS.  Some of that debate is seeking to justify stances or experiences in abortion.  It may be personal or it may be related to someone they know and love not wanting to be harsh and seeking to be compassionate.  The issue is not what you or I think about abortion it is what God thinks about WHEN LIFE BEGINS.  That question alone moves the abortion debate into an entirely different arena.

Even after I say what I believe, and refer to Scripture, some will still reject my argument and presentation.  I can do nothing about that, but I feel compelled that I must address the matter.  The alarming factual reality is that over 60 Million babies have been aborted since the inception of Rove v Wade.  That is more than the entire population of some small countries.  If God deems life to begin before that baby breathes the air of earth and is fully out of the womb and birth canal, then this becomes genocide.  If those who believe that that which is in the womb, formed with arms, legs, vital organs, and feels pain are right and this is nothing more than a blob of tissue so long as it is in the womb then it is a small insignificant matter.  I do not truly believe that anyone considers it insignificant.

Let’s take the word that God gave to Jeremiah as He called him into ministry.  These words resonate powerfully or should in identifying what God thinks about that which is formed in the womb.  Consider the words of God, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you…”  BEFORE I formed you… BEFORE you were born… The word before is quite revealing, in my view.  I will acknowledge that if this were the only reference to that life BEFORE being fully birthed into the world we might still wonder.  But consider Psalm 139:13-16. and consider the words of the Palmist and consider how it relates to the formation of that person many call a fetus.  He identities that God is the one that forms that life and it is a marvelous miracle.  He identifies that God knew all his parts before he was born and that God saw his UNFORMED SUBSTANCE and all his parts are written in God’s book even before they existed after conception or development.  Then, in Isaiah 44:24, we read, “Thus says the LORD, your Redeemer, and the One who formed you from the womb, ‘I, the LORD, am the maker of all things, stretching out the heavens by Myself, and spreading out the earth all alone…”  In the New Testament in Galatians 1:15 we find, “But when He who had set me apart before I was born, and had called me through His grace.”  When did God know him?  BEFORE HE WAS BORN!  I must not omit what happened with Elizabeth when she heard the salutation of Mary – “the baby (not fetus… not blob of tissue… BABY) leaped in her womb.”  (Luke 1:41,44).

There is much that can be said about the sanctity of life but my focus is the cry of the blood of the innocent (unborn) and the impending judgment of God because of our participation in genocide through abortion.  When does, God view life as having begun?  It begins, at a minimum at conception, but in truth, according to scripture, it begins in the heart of God.  Life does not delay it beginning until that infant in the womb is fully and completely born into this world.  Since I believe this strongly all my political decisions are influenced by this belief.  But, it goes beyond anything political and touches all of life.  I believe that God values life, all life and so, should we.  I believe that we are in serious danger of incurring the wrath of God when we violate the sanctity of life, especially in the defenseless.   If you consider this devotional too political, I am sorry but I sense the Spirit of the Lord would have me address LIFE and this matter that too many even in the church have become too calloused.

God, bless you richly as you embark on today’s leg of this life’s journey!

Leave a Reply

