THE WRONG QUESTION(s) HINDERS PROGRESS…


spiritual-blog-questions

Exodus 3:10-12 – “Therefore, come now, and I will send you to Pharaoh, so that you may bring My people, the sons of Israel, out of Egypt.” 11 But Moses said to God, ” Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the sons of Israel out of Egypt?” 12 And He said, “Certainly I will be with you, and this shall be the sign to you that it is I who have sent you: when you have brought the people out of Egypt, you shall worship God at this mountain.”  NASU

 

The account of Moses is an incredible journey and reveals how intricately God works in our lives preparing us for His purpose(s).  Moses, as you will recall, was born in a time when Pharaoh had issued an edict to kill all the male children born to the Hebrews.  Moses’ mother hid him for 3 months then placed him in a wicker basket in the Nile where he was found by the daughter of Pharaoh who had compassion on the child.  Miriam, Moses sister, was watching and suggested that she be allowed to find a nurse to care for the child.  Moses was raised in the nurture and admonition of the LORD by his birth mother before entering Pharaoh’s house where he was trained in multiple disciplines in Egypt.  We remember his flight into the desert fleeing a vengeful Pharaoh and there came into the house of Jethro and married Zipporah and had children.  While watching the flocks of Jethro he saw a phenomenon in the desert a burning bush.  That was not unusual and as the words of Moses reveals it was not the burning bush that caught his attention but that the bush burned but was not consumed.  This was out of the ordinary and he wanted to find the reason and observe the strange occurrence.

It was as Moses approached the bush that God spoke to him and instructed him to take off his shoes because he was standing on Holy Ground.  It was holy because God’s presence was there!  God made it holy as He does wherever He is.  God revealed to Moses that He had heard the ‘groaning’ of the people of Israel in Egypt and in honoring His covenant with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob God was going to deliver them.  God said to Moses, “Therefore, come now, and I will send you to Pharaoh, so that you may bring My people, the sons of Israel, out of Egypt.”  God had prepared Moses for such a time as this but Moses’ mind was not sufficiently set free and he resisted.  He asked the Wrong Question, saying, “Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the sons of Israel out of Egypt?”   WHO AM I is the wrong question and posed a potential problem to shipwreck God’s Plan for Moses and Israel.

The question should be replaced by a more pertinent one.  We should be asking, “WHO ARE YOU, LORD rather than WHO AM I?”  The success of God’s purpose(s) is not dependent on Who We Are but Who He Is.  The focus should be on WHO GOD IS and His sufficiency, not our insufficiency.  If we focus on our insufficiency without focusing on His sufficiency, we guarantee defeat.  If we focus on His sufficiency and recognize that in our weakness His strength is released powerfully we will find success.  God responded to Moses question with a promise to God with him but Moses still protested out of his limited mindset.  God’s response to Moses’ protest and the question as to WHO GOD IS was powerful.  God said, “Tell them I AM.  He said I AM WHO I AM! 

Moses, what do you need?  I AM That!  God tell Israel that the All Sufficient, All Powerful, All Wise, and Eternal God has sent you and whatever you need I AM.  I will be with you, go before you, empower you, enable you, enlighten you, and anoint you to do that which I have sent you to do.  SUFFICIENCY is with you!  That is the message you and I need to become engraved in our hearts and in the forefront of our minds.  It does not matter our status in life, our age, our education, our finances, our experience WHO GOD IS matters and that is all that matters!  It is our willingness to obey His call and pursue His purpose(s).  He will NEVER leave us, nor will He FORSAKE us.

God, bless you richly is my prayer!

Leave a Reply

