THE DO NOT DILEMMA OF GOD’S VISION…

Spiritual Blog - Wait

Acts 1:4-5 – “Gathering them together, He commanded them not to leave Jerusalem, but to wait for what the Father had promised, “Which,” He said, “you heard of from Me; 5 for John baptized with water, but you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit not many days from now.”  NASU

I challenge you to consider the fact that this instruction came AFTER Jesus’ revelation to them as to what their ministry and purpose were to be in the Great Commission.  He had also told them that they had AUTHORITY over all the POWER of the devil and drew a powerful picture of their purpose and ministry.

In Mark 16 He had informed them that they were to go into all the world and told them of the signs that would accompany them and those they won into the Kingdom.  The prospects were incredible and I am sure they were chomping at the bits to get started. In Matthew 28 the LORD brought to them the revelation that He had all authority, which I’m sure they had no difficulty believing having walked with Him.  He then told them to go into all nations and make disciples.  They had tasted this ministry and authority for in Luke 9 Jesus had called them together and gave them authority and sent them out to proclaim the Kingdom of God and to perform healing of the sick.  They went and the results were incredible.  I can only imagine how difficult it must have been for them to WAIT for something they had no real understanding, the Holy Spirit’s infilling.

I remember in Bible School a young man said after the first semester, “I’ve got enough Bible now, so I’m leaving school to begin the ministry God has called me to.”  He went before he was equipped and failed miserably.  That is not to say that a Bible School education alone will ensure success in ministry but the attitude of being a Master while clearly still a Novice was problematic.  I’ve challenged young people and some not so young as to the prospects and possibilities in God only to find some of them unable to WAIT until they were released but went charging into battle without being fully equipped or trained.  Most of them came back battered and it was much more difficult to get them into the battle because of their impatience.  They reminded me of the Ahimaaz and the Cushite running to King David with news of Absalom.  Joab gave the message to the Cushite but Ahimaaz was so full of zeal he begged to run even without a message and outran the Cushite only to be turned aside by David.  How many times do we get a partial vision of what God wants and want to begin immediately?

Impatience and being overly zealous has done much damage in the church and individual lives.  In life, one may have an idea and a vision of how to start a business and done in the right way and at the right time would be incredibly beneficial and lucrative.  However, if you jump into the deep before you are prepared you will either meet with disaster and failure or encounter such struggles, trials, and difficulties you give up or fail to achieve what was possible.  Patience and Timing are incredibly important in life.  I knew a young man who was praying for a wife and felt that the Lord has witnessed to his heart that a particular young lady was the ideal mate for him.  Rather than waiting on the Lord to touch her heart and pursuing her in courtship, he went to her and informed her that they were getting married.  THEY DIDN’T!  He sabotaged something that God was working on by his impatience and he appeared to her as someone that she feared would become so domineering her life would be miserable.  I can’t say that I blame her.  I remember being in prayer one morning and the Holy Spirit whispered to my heart that I was going to become pastor of a particular church.  The church has a pastor at that moment.  I shared that with my wife and she said, “We are not going to that church.”  I prayed and waited and in a few weeks, I received a call from the Board asking me to come for an interview to be considered for the church.  I could have shipwrecked God’s Plan but I waited for His timing and His Open Door.  We went to that church as served as pastor.  During the time, there I saw many things I knew were in the heart of God and in the times, I waited for God’s timing, training, preparation, and provision they were successful.  A couple of times I tried to move forward immediately we experienced chaos and failure.

Jesus said wait, tarry, don’t go forth UNTIL and the UNTIL is the most difficult thing that most of us encounter in anything.  We don’t like to wait and certainly don’t like waiting when we are waiting for something that we do not understand and are not sure we will recognize when it happens.  It becomes a matter of CONFIDENCE and TRUST in God and His Word.  Hear me!  You can trust Him.  I also feel compelled to say, “The dream or vision of your heart can and will become a reality if you allow God to guide you in the process and wait for His timing.”  I am not suggesting that you operate in timidity and hesitancy but that you listen to that “still small voice” and when He says GO, you Go with your all but until He says GO you wait.

            God, bless you richly is my desire and prayer!